Dance walks, tattoos & babies

The last ten days have been lush. They’ve been rough but the lush has definitely outweighed the rough, and I haven’t felt this in a long long while.

Last year I started Project 365 – taking a photo every day and posting it on twitter – but when the cafuffle hit last year this was brought to a swift end, but was soon taken up again in more of a haphazard way. I cannot, and will never, stop taking photos. It’s just what I do. But I just miss the routine of one pic daily – instead I take a whole bunch. So, instead of just sharing them on instagram I decided to start properly sharing them on here too. These are, after all, the snapshots of the wholesome bits of life. The reason I love photographs is that no matter what shit is going down, taking photos helps you capture the beauty, or fun or homely cosyness that’s always there too. So, here’s a taste of my last ten days.

My lovely friend and neighbour, Dee introduced me to the activity of Dance Walking. Yes, it’s as cool as it sounds. And yes, we look as cool as it might sound too. It involves a walking silent disco. It’s like what you do when you’re heading home at 3am, drunk, except we were doing it at 4pm in broad daylight, completely sober. And one time in the rain. We intended on just hitting the woodland walk and heading up the hill to overlook part of the city, but ended up starting as soon as we’d set foot on the quaint little street just down from our roads. Lads cheered us on and high fiving us as they passed, one cool lady joining in with our silent groove, and various car toots and the odd weird grin from passerby’s who wondered what the hell was going on. It was wonderful. And now it’s all I want to do when I have energy – go for a city groove.

20130325-024950 PM.jpg

20130325-025046 PM.jpg

I’ve been loving taking up a seat and looking at the city lights when it’s dark. I’m still not a city girl – I’m a country girl without a shadow of a doubt – but there’s magical about a city at night.

20130325-025405 PM.jpg

I bought a SLOW COOKER. Best investment ever. Since then I have successful stunk out the house but have been, twice (or sometimes thrice) daily, eating bone broths. Anyone Paleo will understand this. Anyone not Paleo, get on it – they are so good for you it’s bonkers. And they taste out-of-this-world-delicious too (provided a hearty hunk of butter is added).

20130325-025818 PM.jpg

I discovered what my hairstyle is when I fall asleep immediately after a salt water bath.

20130325-030106 PM.jpg

I began my project for my herbalist – growing a whole range of herbs for the shop and photographing their lives as they grow. From seed, to seedling, to bud, to plant, to on the shelf as a tincture or tea. Pretty cool.

20130325-030450 PM.jpg

I seem to be having birds wander into my life all the time at the moment and I’m loving it. This little fella, and his girlfriend, sat with me by the canal in the spring sunshine. I’d just come from an intense therapy session so some water & duck time was well needed.

20130325-061008 PM.jpg

I finished off the editing I’d been doing for This Place Is Yours whilst my toes soaked up some sunshine. Super cool project – check it out. Editing was medicine for my soul.

20130325-072044 PM.jpg

I went KICKBOXING. So. Cool. A load of anger had been brewing and I needed an outlet…a new one. And I fell in love with this. I felt like I was back in my teenage days. I arrived late (obv), and jumped into the jogging in a circle. Then we needed partners and I looked round the room with a worried face…but a lovely girl ran towards me immediately saying how she had a tonne of aggression to let out. I squealed ‘me too!’, and so we set about following the instructions and lamping each other, left hook, right hook. Then apologising. Then lamping each other. Then apologising. Then kicking each other. Then apologising and checking the other was okay. It was brilliant. Turns out I’m a bit of a natural. But it also turned out that these punches and kicks I could give so solidly, were not so welcomed by some pad holders! This will be a talent I develop I hope – knowing who to throw all your strength at in class, and who to lay low with. I woke up the next morning and could hardly move. It was worth every ache.

20130325-072431 PM.jpg

For ages now I’ve had an obsession with graffiti/street art. So, I decided to give it a go. And I totally fell in love with this too. I dream of taking this up big time, but my environmental conscience and eco-anxiety was too strong and I don’t think I’ll do it again – it’s just too flippin’ full of chemicals…unless I can scheme a method of creating non-toxic graffiti spray paints.

20130325-074108 PM.jpg

I hula-hula’d.

20130325-074444 PM.jpg

I cwtch’d with this lovely thing.

20130325-074934 PM.jpg

I learnt that slow cookers and shared houses don’t work so well…they get turned off. So, in return I leave a moody note.

20130325-075102 PM.jpg

I ate NACHOS, as y’all know.

20130325-075314 PM.jpg

I went veg warehouse shopping with new friends.

20130325-075610 PM.jpg

Me and my broth lunch hit the road together most days.

20130325-075728 PM.jpg

I napped and meditated in the woods or by the stream every day…this, too, was medicine for the soul.

20130325-080023 PM.jpg

I planted some more funky seeds.

20130325-080949 PM.jpg

I said hello to Vera.

20130325-081039 PM.jpg

I ate CAKE. (Hippy wholesome cake, but still cake.)

20130325-081105 PM.jpg

I felt so undescribably ill for a lot of the week (nothing to do with the nachos or cake – these were an attempt to help this shittyness!). I felt rough beyond words – like mega toxicity mixed with flu-like symptoms and so much physical pain…ugh. But, I worked out a few contributing factors, the main one being that my liver needed another boost. So, thanks to my herbalist, I got on the milk thistle and yoghurt again. My liver is thanking every time I eat this.

20130325-081212 PM.jpg

We had lots of these. This is what life is about.

20130325-081733 PM.jpg

I have indulged in daily salt baths to detox this crap outta my system – such a treat too. Eating dinner, watching Before Coco Chanel, and daydreaming that I was Audrey Tautou.

20130325-084648 PM.jpg

A lovely friend I hadn’t seen in a year and a half hit the city with her lovely boy. We had numerous coffees, a walk, a dinner party and a fun packed trip to Ikea. It was lovely.

20130325-094534 PM.jpg

And, I bought NEW BEDDING. What a treat.

20130325-084845 PM.jpg

And…I got a tattoo! Better photo coming soon.

Photo on 2013-03-25 at 14.12 #3

The camera didn’t capture other coffees, walks in the woods, cosy writing time and naps on the sofa, but these were included in the ten days too. All in all it’s been really rather nice.

4 thoughts on “Dance walks, tattoos & babies

  1. WHAT A DAY! So filled. I’m really glad you had such a day, and it is great to see such a smile! Love the new layout for the blog. It’s fresh.

    • Ah, you’re lovely. It was ten days though! If that was all in a day, well….I don’t actually know if it would have been possible! : ) big love. thanks for blog comment too – just felt like it needed a change! xx

Leave a Reply

