Parsnips & Jerusies: A Root Vegetable Marriage (Part 1)

Jerusalem Artichokes and Parsnips are now my idea of heaven. Parsnips always have been but until now I have only ever eaten (and LOVED) artichokes in their other forms – never cooked from actual scratch. But my weekly veg box keeps providing me with them so I figured it was time to dive into the artichoke world seeing as I had two big piles of them forming, and I could see the mould just wanting to start forming.

What I created was an out-of-this-world-tasty roasted jerusie parsnip rosemary mess. Simplest recipe ever, so that’s why I’m sharing – for anyone else in a jerusalem artichoke pickle too.

The jerusies.

photo 2-37

The ‘nips.photo 1-42

Ingredients:

A bulb of garlic

A sprig of rosemary

A bunch of Parsnips

A bunch of Jerusalem Artichokes

A few pinches of salt

Lots of sunflower/olive/coconut oil, or butter 

Method:

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees or gas mark 7.

Wash and end the parsnips & jerusies. Chop into chunks or strips – whatever you fancy. Put in water and bring to the boil. Simmer for about 15 minutes, or until just soft. Drain as soon as they are cooked, as if left in the water they’ll just continue to cook.

photo 3-32

Break up the garlic into individual cloves. Leave the skin on. Roughly chop the rosemary, or just leave it whole from the sprig.

Gently spoon the cooked vegetables into a baking tin. Add the garlic cloves and rosemary too. Drizzle or dollop as much oil as your arteries fancy, and shove on the top shelf of the oven.

photo 4-26

Only mix around two, maybe three, times whilst cooking. I find the more you leave them be, the better the crispy bits are. When mixing, be sure to tuck the garlic cloves underneath, or in and amongst the vegetables because if left on top they just tend to burn speedily…and then they just taste gross.

Depending on your oven (mine is crap) it should take roughly 30 minutes, but just leave them roasting until the crispy bits are beautifully caramalised, or just how you like them.

I didn’t have any attractive garnishes, plus I was way too hungry to mess about picking any, so there isn’t a beautifully presented pic. Instead, there is just this ‘fresh outta the oven’ one.

photo 5-13

I have half a pot of boiled ‘nips and jerusies left on the stove to make into a tasty mash – I’m thinking with a coconut theme – so I’ll post that recipe once it’s been created too.

Until then I am just going to daydream about my newfound caramalised jerusie love.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

