Healing is…

Learning, adopting and practising the art of mindfulness. And weaving it into your daily life and how you connect with your body and daily surroundings.

But…sometimes, I know with ptsd, to be able to actually be in a place to practise mindfulness is healing In itself…sometimes our bodies and our minds just can’t go there. There’s something else in the mix: severe adrenaline overload and trigger-ville.

I’ve learnt to be gentle with myself in times I can’t actually do mindfulness or when dropping into myself sets off triggers left right and centre…it’s during these times that the healing comes from not dropping into myself. But once the anxiety softens – through herbs, supplements and time – when I can catch my breath and practise mindfulness, a deeper sense of healing – and connection – has begun again.

It’s a motherfucking process. A long, intricately beautiful, confusing, and profound one.

20140111-032858 PM.jpg

One thought on “Healing is…

  1. This is true for me on both counts. I use mindfulness to calm my mind but when it is racing too much I use a CD by Brian Weiss an American who has saved my sanity on many occasions with his wonderful relaxation techniques. I’m in hospital at the moment so can’t give you a reference number but do look up his website and find one that works for you x
    You are doing really well judging by your writing x I don’t always comment but I always read your posts x

Leave a Reply

